International Day of the Girl 

​The day I had my daughter my world view changed.

I knew that I was her first example of what a woman could be and I found that scary.

I didn’t want to grow up or be responsible for such an onerous role. But I have no choice because I don’t want her to ever feel that she shouldn’t work hard; or that she needs a man to make her complete; or she can’t be sporty and girly at the same time; or be anything she wants to be.

So I straightened up my life so she could be  a Wonder Woman too.

Every girl deserves to know that all things are possible for them should they want it.

We’ve just got to keep punching through that glass ceiling wherever we find ourselves so that the next generation doesn’t have to.

Leave a Reply

