On Staying in Your Lane

Last week I had a networking event. When I paid for the ticket there was a standard price and a VIP one. I looked through what the VIP ticket gave you and essentially it was a goodie bag and priority seating. I’m decluttering so I don’t want any more things in my home that I’ll only need to find space for or get rid of. On priority seating, I thought as long as I can hear, I’m good. Taking into consideration that the event was going to be in London and I had a train ticket to add on to my costs, I thought a standard ticket would do me just fine. These were all wise choices.

However as the day drew nearer and I read more about the speakers, I was starting to think maybe I should have paid the extra money for the VIP ticket. What if I missed out on something? What if someone important I was meant to meet would be in the VIP lounge and I never got to meet them? Would I stand out? Did I make a mistake? Am I not investing in myself as I should? What if I am the only one standing in the standard ticket line. 😨😨😨😨😨😨 *shock-horror-pass out* Aaaaaargh.

These thoughts started to niggle at me the night before but on my train ride to the event they became full blown and I started to get major butterflies. So I prayed and asked why am I feeling this way?

  1. It’s my money and no one has a right to judge how I spend it
  2. I have my own goals to meet and being financially smart is one of them. A VIP ticket does not aid my goal however not having one might look to others
  3. The goody bag is full of beauty products that I have no interest in so why feel bad plus I’m decluttering
  4. Who cares?
  5.  Did I mention it’s my money!!!

Sometimes you’ve just got to shut those thoughts down quick and fast. Don’t leave them any room to fester. Don’t analyse the historical lineage of the thoughts – just SHUT THEM DOWN.

Why? Cos they only have one aim, to pull you down and make you feel less than you are and they have no place in a child of God. I have too much to do and too much to achieve to be weighed down by useless, straight-outta-hell thoughts.

As it turned out, I wasn’t the only one with a standard ticket. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ I overheard a lady mention the fact that she was saving and had to pay for child-care to be there so a standard ticket it is. That’s what happens when you have goals, you make choices. I had a great seat and got to meet some of the people that I had planned to and met one that will be collaborating on an event with me. So pow wow to the stinking stunking thoughts. Imma be staying in my own lane.

  

Leave a Reply

