World Book Day

Today is World Book Day and my children, like thousands of other children, are dressing up as a character from a book.

I had a very interesting experience this year with my children. My son was very clear about who he wanted to go as. He is going as Alexander from Einstein’s Underpants.

einstien

Yes! My son will be sporting underpants on his head today for the world to see. So we’ve been painting pants over the past two days.

image

My seven year old daughter on the other hand thinks fancy dress is embarrassing. And has chosen to show up as the very sophisticated member of the Butterfly Club. I wasn’t even allowed to get a yellow wig. She will go with a butterfly Alice band and butterfly print tee-shirt.

butterfly

She is going as a – wait for it ……. girl. Two years ago she went as a rabbit from Alice in Wonderland. However, last year she selected Charlie and Lola so she could go as a girl. And this year she’s done the same. Hmmmmm. I’m starting to see a pattern here.

I’m always intrigued by how two individuals who are brought up by the same parents can be so different. Despite my son’s friends telling him he must be out of his mind to wear pants on his head, he relishes the thought of making a fool of himself. And my daughter would clearly, never be caught dead wearing underpants on her head. It’s funny.

Jokes aside, It’s heart warming to see how children get excited over books. Their school has been running a book cafe every morning of this week. And as I stood by a table of books, I witnessed the chatter of seven year-olds discussing their favourite books and regaling one another with their best bits. I also got the supreme pleasure of being let in on a secret. A young boy who shall remain nameless told me his mother has said he was only allowed to select two books, but he had selected FIVE!!!!!  Hehehehehe. When she sees her bill, she’s going to get a shock!!!!!

image

Books open up the mind and takes the imagination of children to boundless places. There are no rules only words.

3 thoughts on “World Book Day

  1. Yup my children are all ready too, and as a teacher, I’m sat here with a cup of tea, lounging, dressed up as a giant tabby cat, Tabby McTat!
    I have A Titchy Witch, and Finn from Star Wars (because “I do have a book about him mummy!”

Leave a Reply

