Over and Over and Over and Over and Over and Over ……….

If you have ever spent time with children or looked after them or have them, then you would have experienced the infuriating thing they do – watching a movie over and over and over AND over again.

I could never understand it but now, as a wiser mother to a six year old and an eight year old, I know they were preparing me for a life time of living in a repetitive state.

Little did I know that this quirk was a forewarning of the way things were going to be as they grew up. 

  • You have to tell them to pick up their clothes like two hundred times and repeat it all again, yep all two hundred times, the next day.
  • You have to tell them to clear the table after eating.
  • You have to tell them not to play when they should be eating.
  • You have to tell them not to talk whilst eating.
  • You have to tell my son not play football in the house, particularly in the room with French doors overlooking the garden WHERE he should be playing.
  • You have to tell my daughter not to touch things, especially fragile things in John Lewis.
  • You have to tell them over and over again to say ‘excuse me’ and not interrupt people in conversation.
  • You have to tell them, even after they’ve spent  two hours tidying up their room, to pick up their toys again.
  • You just have to tell them over and over and over and OVER again.

I can only hope and pray that when they older some of what I’ve said will stick. In the meantime, may God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change. Sigh.
-RWW

© Redefining Wonder Woman

Leave a Reply

