Confessions of a Struggling Parent

It would really easy to tell you all the great things my children do and they really do some amazing things. It would be easy to go on about how they are changing and challenging themselves to be good humans beings. It would be easy – particularly on social media.

You can’t see me so I can spin all the good and true stories about them. But that’s not what Redefining Wonder Woman is about. It’s about taking the good and the bad and still taking a shot at life without condemning yourself. It’s about not making others feel lousy about themselves by exhibiting only your good side.

I hope that’s not what I do? I hope you get a bit of my struggles and my triumphs.

So today, I am struggling and I might elaborate on that in another post but today is just about acknowledging that I am struggling. Tomorrow will be different but this is today.

I am struggling to remember that they are only children and will act as children.
I am struggling to understand why everyday can’t be like the smooth sailing days.
I am struggling to understand why I need to repeat myself over and over and over again.
I am struggling to accept that children are primarily takers not givers.
I am struggling to accept that this is motherhood.
I am struggling to accept how after a session of me telling them off, they immediately turn round and say ,”mummy may I have a brioche?” šŸ˜³šŸ˜³šŸ˜³šŸ˜³šŸ˜³šŸ˜³šŸ˜³šŸ˜³šŸ˜³šŸ˜³

So today I’m going to be kind to myself because they love me no matter what and tomorrow they’ll do it all again. I will simply remind myself that this is the reality of motherhood. Now where’s that latte?

Leave a Reply

