Alternative Stoptober: Day 20

A good night’s sleep beats coffee any day or so I’m finding out. Without having coffee to wake me up in the morning, I’ve had to find alternative ways of being alert. Apart from chewing gum (which I had previously given up) and getting up from my desk every five minutes, I’ve discovered that a proper night’s rest is the best way to be alert.

Whether it’s due to age or just the fact that my life is mega packed at the moment, I have to be asleep by 11.00pm to get a great night’s rest. 11.30pm is my limit. Anything after that is stretching it. As I’m usually up by 6.00am, 11.00pm will give me a good seven hours.

I used to be able to stay up till 1.00am believe it or not. And up untill about nine months ago, that’s what I did. I have graciously accepted that I can’t function like that anymore. Besides it makes me a better person the next day. I’m just going to ensure I manage my time better during the day to get other stuff done.

Will be interesting to find out if I can morph into a morning person after decades of being a night owl.

2 thoughts on “Alternative Stoptober: Day 20

  1. Wow, wow, wow…I didn’t know we were that much alike. It’s unbelievable. Can’t sleep before 1am. Very cranky if I don’t her enough sleep and I’m snapping at everybody that walks right into it. Gum is my best friend right now. I try to limit coffee cos it gives me tremors.
    When this has gone on for long enough, I crash and burn (fall ill). Nice to know I’m not the only one :). We will keep working on it. Well done for trying.

Leave a Reply

