Redefining Wonder Woman Series Five: Master Of The Game

I met Laura on twitter when I started to connect with people in the baking world. Her flawless cake designs and clean shots caught my eye. She only had a handful of followers then and didn’t even have a Facebook page. She now has six and a half thousand plus followers on Facebook and over a thousand on twitter . Laura has taken a simple desire and turned it into so much more.  I hope it inspires you to become a master of your game.

SONY DSC

RWW: I don’t know much about you can you tell us a little bit yourself?
LL: My name is Laura Loukaides (pronounced “Lou-kay-dees”) I was born on June 19th 1993 in Hertfordshire, UK. I enjoy writing, photography, music and decorating cakes – all different art forms I really admire. I’m also obsessed with Cake Boss and The Great British Bake Off!

RWW: How long have you been baking?
LL: I’ve been baking since I was very small, my mum taught me how to bake (she’s still makes the best cakes!)
I’ve only been baking seriously over the past two years since I started decorating cakes. When I’m baking for my family I’ve fallen into this habit of making everything so much bigger than it’s supposed to be… unless profiteroles are supposed to be the size of a Grapefruit…

RWW: I was stunned to find out that you are self taught. It would take me years to turn out such flawless cakes. When did you love for baking start?
LL: The year I was turning 19, after watching countless hours of Cake Boss and Food Network Challenges, I decided that I wanted to make my own Birthday cake. Before watching any of these TV shows I had no idea what Fondant was, I had never heard of it, I was aware of wedding cakes but I never actually thought about how they were made. I wondered to myself if I was capable of doing something like that, so, I started by making a fondant rose -not Gum-Paste, I didn’t even know it existed- and to me (at the time) it looked nice, so, I made 80 of them… yep… all in Orange for my sisters Birthday Cake, her birthday was before mine so I decided to design her a cake and put the roses to good use, she loved it! Cake artists will all scream at me when I say that I used to store my Fondant in the fridge.. What was I thinking?!

RWW: Who inspired your love for cake decorating?
LL: I’d say Cake Boss inspired me the most to begin with. I also really admire the incredible work of some of the big names in the cake industry such as Sylvia Weinstock, Ron Ben-Israel and Peggy Porschen; they’re all very talented in their individual styles. There are so many inspirational cake artists in the world I could go on forever!!

RWW: How did you learn about the craft?
LL: TV, YouTube, Books and Magazines. I’ve never been to any classes for anything. To begin with, I never even knew you could take classes in Cake Decorating so I taught myself how to do the basics and then developed my skills by taking risks and learning from my mistakes.
RWW: Can you remember the moment you knew you had a gift?
LL: Like all Cake Decorators, I’m always doubting my work, so I’ve never seen myself as having a gift, I always feel there is room for improvement, but everyone’s compliments and reactions at Cake International really helped to build my confidence!

Cake International 2014 entry

Cake International 2014 entry

RWW: How long has it taken you where you started to where you are now?
LL: Just over 2 years, It’s become an obsession!

RWW: What was your first cake like? Do you have a picture of your first cake? 🙂
LL: Ummm… I’m not proud of my first cake, at the time I just assumed that I knew what I was doing but I had no idea, I have learn’t so much from making mistakes. My cake skills are much better than before… I’m a little too embarrassed to show anyone my first cake…

RWW: How much time would you say you dedicate to practising?
LL: I practice new techniques whenever I can, mostly in the evenings, It’s always best to challenge yourself. Sometimes we can look at something and think, woah there is no way I can do that, but, Who says you can’t? Don’t let anything stop you, Give it a go!

RWW: What’s your creative process like? How do you get inspired and how long does it usually take you from idea to cake?
LL: My creative process can take a while because I like to create new and original designs, there is so much around now that coming up with new ideas can be difficult, but, with my cakes,  it’s literally whatever people like. It’s always much easier to copy a real-life subject from it’s true form because you know what it’s supposed to look like. If I have to design a wedding cake, I like to take to fashion for inspiration, for example; Dior Couture is perfect for an extravagant wedding style because it’s very colourful, there are lots of patterns you can incorporate into the design;  and then you have Vera Wang which is better for a sophisticated wedding design – the soft tones and subtle features work really well. Most recently I have taken to architecture and tattoos for inspiration;  the shapes, styles and shading are all fantastic elements when you’re looking to create something a bit different.

RWW: Do you love what you do?
LL: YES! It’s honestly one of the best and most rewarding professions anyone can go into and, the cake world is so lovely.  Everyone is always so supportive and helpful. I’ve met some amazing people since I started decorating cakes!!  My proudest moment so far is being selected for the front cover of Cake Masters Magazine (September), it’s such an honour, I still can’t believe it!!

Cake Master Magazine, September 2014

Cake Master Magazine, September 2014

RWW: I see you also dabble in photography. It’s great that you can combine two loves. Do you take photographs professionally as well?
LL: I used to take photos all the time, not so much now, but teaching myself about photography has really helped me present my work in a clean and professional way. Daylight is your best friend when taking photos of your cakes!!

RWW: What’s most important to you?
LL: To me, it’s most important to just enjoy what I’m doing, being able to get up everyday and look forward to what comes next is an amazing thing. I’m still only young and have so much more to discover in this crazy cake world…

Thank you Laura

Laura collages

To see more of Laura’s creations, check her out on twitter @LauraLoukaides, her Facebook page or her website www.lauraloukaides.o.uk

Leave a Reply

