Thanks To An Older Sibling I’m A Music Snob

Whenever people ask me about my siblings I crack a joke that my parents missed the day when family planning was taught at school. My older sister is ten years older than me and my youngest sister is eight year younger than me. There’s a whole lot of families in between the eighteen years it took my mother to rear children. 😉

There are many advantages to having a sister much more older than you. I will spare her by not mentioning ANY of the disadvantages but she knows. ;). Firstly she’s old enough to buy you clothes, CDs and generally anything you ask for. Secondly, you get to go to a lot of cool places that you parents wouldn’t take you to. Thirdly, she doesn’t censor what you watch or listen to. ROTFL. I could go on and on but by far the greatest advantage is having access to a repertoire of music that none of your peers were privy to, unless they had much older siblings.

At the age of ten I was rocking to George Benson, Shalamar, Luther Vandross, Gladys Night and the Pips, The Commodores, Off the Wall Michael Jackson not Thriller, the Gap Band, Ray Parker Junior (pre Ghostbusters), Anita Baker, Art Garfunkel and Paul Simon, Quincy Jones, Donna Summer, Marvin Gaye (pre Sexual Healing), Stevie Wonder, Lionel Richie, The Whispers, Queen, Prince, Sade, Police, Chaka Khan, Tracy Chapman, Randy Crawford, Dionne Warwick, Bill Weathers, The Whispers, Kool and the Gang, Teddy Pendergrass, Aretha Franklin and so many others that could fill the sky and beyond.

Fortunately I was also born in an era when music was still an art and pre auto-tune abuse. The sounds of my youth were New Edition, Bobby Brown, Whitney Houston, Wham, Spandau Ballet, Madonna, Post Thriller MJ, Al B Sure, Fela, Salt ‘n’ Pepa, En Vogue, Gloria Estefan, Five Star, Heavy D, Janet Jackson, Guy, Babyface, Christopher Williams, Tevin Campbell, SWV, Jodeci, Joe, Mary J Blidge, Karen White, Maxi Priest, Sting, George Michael, Maxwell, TLC, Aaliyah, Boyz to Men, and where do I stop.

Come to think of it, being blessed with older parents meant I was also introduced to Nat King Cole, Perry Como, Cliff Richard (oooo I remember playing Summer Holiday over and over again on vinyl), Julio Iglesias (father to Enriqué), Sammy Davis Jnr, Louise Armstrong, Cole Porter, Doris Day, etc.

I am sooooooooooooooooo happy that I was not born in this present era of music. I would have missed so much. Wouldn’t that have been the worst form of ignorance? I shudder at the thought. #Brrrrrr. I couldn’t list as many musicians post the 90s to be honest. That’s partly because they just didn’t grab my interest as much. Don’t get me wrong, I am a pop music girl and partial to a bit of chart music but I will never mistake what I listen to now for real music – they are purely entertainment. Of course there are exceptions but very few that I would buy let alone see in concert.

I should be offended that my soon-to-be-eighteen year old niece refers to Bobby Brown as an oldie but I suppose she is right. Yes I know I sound like a grumpy old woman. I already alluded to that in 12 Ways To Know You’re Getting Old. If I’ve done a good job with this, then you should be heading straight for YouTube right now!

Leave a Reply

