Love Is A Many Splendored Thing

The human mind fascinates me. For some reason I remembered this song from the movie ‘Love is a Many Splendored Thing’, for no real reason. I used to watch loads of old movies courtesy of my mum. As a child some of my favourite actors were Gene Kelly, Katherine Hepburn, Cary Grant and Paul Newman. My mum had subscribed to Turner Network and my sisters and I would feast our eyes on movie after movie set in another time and space. Watching an old movie is still one of my favourite things to do. I have a soft spot for anything with Paul Newman in it. ‘Frankly my dear, I don’t give a damn’, still goes down as the ending of all endings. Singing in the Rain is guaranteed to make me smile and must have one of the best dance sequences ever. They certainly don’t make films like they used to.

    Love is a many-splendored thing,
    It’s April rose that only grows in the early spring,
    Love is nature’s way of giving a reason to be living,
    The golden crown that makes a man a king.
    Lost on a high and windy hill,
    In the morning mist two lovers kissed and the world stood still,
    When our fingers touch my silent heart has taught us how to sing,
    Yes, true love’s a many-splendored thing.
Leave a Reply

