Wonder Women Assemble

It’s funny that my blog is called redefiningwonderwoman but I don’t seem to have a lot of woman-ny stuff on here. I’m hoping to change this in the next few weeks. My plan is to interview someone who I feel stands out as a Wonder Woman. We are used to lauding women like Sheryl Sandberg, Michelle Obama, Hilary Clinton – woman who have scaled the high echelons of their professional terrain. We don’t often hear about ordinary women doing extraordinarily simple things that make you wonder. A book may never be written about them and you may never hear about them on a global scale but, in my opinion, they deserve a Wonder Woman award.

As I write this, I recall a day at University. I was hanging out with one of my male friends, and we saw this girl as we waited in a queue for food. She had the most stunning, to die for, hazel eyes. I went ahead as you would and told her she had beautiful eyes. She said thanks. What my friend said after was a shock to me. He said I should never be vocalise my admiration for another woman because she would think I was jealous. And I remember saying back to him that if she felt I wanted to be her, that would be her problem but if I think someone is beautiful, I’m going to let them know. I marvelled at the sort of world that dictated that women will be pitted against one another and compliments to one another were banned. Of course, I rebelled against such a notion.

I had a life changing moment when it dawned on me at the age of 25 that I was normal. It was such a monumental moment that I remember how old I was at the time and what I was doing. It was freeing. There is no perfect woman out there. No one has it all together. No one is 100% happy with their lives. No one is emotionally stable all of the time. Everyone is just trying to be. And when you hear about those mums who love staying at home with their children during half term and wish they didn’t have to go back to school. They are either lying or represent 0.00000000000000000000001% of all women. Most of us sometimes want to run and hide from our own children. Most of us suck in our tummies – perpetually. We sometimes want to hit our spouses on the head. We sometimes or all the time have messy homes and our children don’t behave the way we would like. And most of all, we are ALL turning into our mothers.

There is so much to learn from one another but we can only learn from each other if we are looking at the real version of ourselves. Let’s encourage one another, even when it’s hard or we’re jealous. That doesn’t mean we can’t disagree over lifestyle choices but there’s no need for cattiness. Let’s just BE!

So if I get myself organised enough, I will start a new series on my blog celebrating Wonder Women I come across in daily life. It will be posted on the last Friday of every month and will commence in March. If you have any recommendations, email me at redefiningwonderwoman@gmail.com.

7 thoughts on “Wonder Women Assemble

  1. Brilliant! I have never quite understood the reasoning behind not complimenting others for whatever reason. There’s enough to put people down in our day-to-day dealings, I think it wonderful to take any chance I get to tell others something good about themselves.

    I look forward to the new series.

  2. Pingback: Enough of the 2015 Drivel – Less Talk, More Action | Redefining Wonder Woman

Leave a Reply

